I am an over spender.

My name is Jen, and I am an over spender.  There, I said it.

The first step to recovery is to admit you have a problem, right?? lol.  I am a wife and a mom to 3 amazing kids, and we live have lived in central Florida for almost 2 years.  I repel saving money like water repels oil, and I am a couponing virgin.  This is my first attempt at using coupons in any sort of organized way, my first attempt that paying attention to grocery store sales, and more importantly, my first time paying attention to the price I pay for things.   Make no mistake, this doesn’t mean that we are wealthy, because we are far from it.  My husband works full time for the cable company, and I am a full time student and stay at home home.  My husband and I are both disabled veterans, so we receive monthly benefits from the VA, so that plus my husbands paycheck is our total source of income.  So here I am, diving in to coupons…headfirst.

But why now?

1.  To prove to my husband that I can do it. Ok, so I have a little spending problem.  I like to shop.  I don’t care where, I don’t care when, and I don’t care how much money I spend.  In other words, I have been known to be really irresponsible with money.  My spending has been a major source of arguments in our marriage, and honestly I’m sick of it.  This is my attempt to make a change to better my life and prove to my husband that my family is more important to me than my desire to shop.  This is not going to be easy, but I am eagerly awaiting the moment I get to look at my husband and stick out my tongue, then give him a big hug because I did it.

2.  To save for a house.  After 7 years of marriage, my husband and I have been unable to save any money in the bank, and my shopping has been a major contributor to this problem.  We have always had to rent, and I’m tired of moving my kids in and out of rental houses every few years.  I want and need to settle in to a home of our own, and I need to find a way to save some money.

I should probably mention that there are a zillion couponing blogs out there, which is why I was hesitant to start one of my own.  On the majority of well done couponing blogs you’ll find coupon matchups that are linked to every different store in the book, freebies, work at home ideas, etc.  When a few of my facebook friends suggested I start a blog after sharing some of my savings in my status updates I thought, “thanks but no thanks”.  I just see all the work that these ladies put into their blogs, and I don’t know how on earth they can keep up with all those sales, and what coupons go with what, and where to go for this and that.  It’s just too much pressure for me, and honestly if I’m going to do this right I need to spend my couponing time doing just that…couponing.  So, instead this blog will be a story of my transformation.  This is me putting it out there to the world, that maybe I’m not right (cringe), and maybe I could do things differently.  I’ll share the links to my favorite couponing blogs and where I find all my deals, so no one will miss out.  I’ll post about some of my weekly savings and any awesome deals that you just can’t miss, the reaction of my husband when I walk in with a bunch of bags (eek!), and such, but most importantly you’ll get the nitty gritty on a girl going from a shopping cart full and an argument when I get home, to a shopping cart full and smiles and rays of sunshine when I get home.  Well, that’s the hope anyway.

About jenboys

I'm a wife, mom of three and a full time student. I love shopping. Even grocery shopping, but I have a habit of spending too much, so I found a way that I can buy alot and not get the evil eye when I come home...coupons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

