How many papers to buy?

I’ve been a little M.I.A. lately because we have been preparing to move into a new house and it took me alot of time and energy to find a place.  It seemed like every house that we looked at, whether online or in person, had something that took it out of the running.  Truth be told, hubby is a little more picky when it comes to choosing a rental, so I do alot of looking, he does alot of saying no.  Nothing makes us argue like trying to find a place to live…well maybe money.  So, although I took a short hiatus from blogging, I haven’t taken a break from couponing.  I decided to mix a little “How to” into my blog posts, so anyone who is hoping to learn couponing the way I have, will have an idea how I did it!

So…I’ve been at it for a little over a month now, and I am really getting this thing down!  I have definitely learned some things by making mistakes, things that the blogs I’ve read never told me.  One of those things has to do with the number of newspapers I bought to get my supply of inserts.  Purchasing newspapers is just one of the many ways you can get your hands on inserts every week, but I’ll focus on just this one for now.

How Many Papers Should I Buy?

I had mentioned in a previous post that you should buy one paper per person in your family.  Well, I’ve now learned from experience that maybe that’s not the best rule of thumb.

The grocery stores I shop, Publix and Winn Dixie, have great Buy One Get One sales every week, and alot of my savings comes from matching those sales with coupons.  Alot of people don’t know that you can use a coupon for each item in the BOGO deal, even though one of the items is technically free.  What they do is take the amount of both coupons off the one item that you’re paying for.  What I discovered by buying 5 papers, is that having an odd number of each coupon means that I’ll miss out on one BOGO deal, and I end up with one extra coupon left over.

So, If you have an odd number in your family, add one extra paper to your weekly buy, that way you can take advantage of every BOGO sale to your fullest potential!

Sunday Papers, Cheap!

I had seen on TLC’s “Extreme Couponing”, one of the ladies gets inserts from the newspaper manager every week.  After all the newspapers are stuffed with inserts every week, there are usually left overs that the office just recycles.  So, I went on the newspaper website for  Ocala Star Banner and looked for their contact info.  Some newspapers will list the email addresses for each of the departments, others like the Ocala paper only had the one subscription inquiry email address listed.  So I sent an email through that one email address asking what happens with the inserts and if I could have them, even if its for a small fee.  The next day I got a personal email from the circulation manager:

Ms Boys,

Per the advertising agreement/contract with our coupon booklet providers we must destroy all unused coupon booklets and do so each week.

If you are interested in obtaining multiple copies the best we could do is sell you multiple Sunday only home delivery subscriptions at half price. Your cost would be sixty cents per issue.

Bill Hayter
Circulation Manager
Ocala Star Banner

So, although I wasn’t able to just go and get a stack of inserts, all I had to do was ask and now I am able to get a subscription discounted by $0.90 each paper!  The moral of the story is, you’d be amazed what you can get if you just ask!

About jenboys

I'm a wife, mom of three and a full time student. I love shopping. Even grocery shopping, but I have a habit of spending too much, so I found a way that I can buy alot and not get the evil eye when I come home...coupons!
This entry was posted in Get Coupons, Tips and Tricks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How many papers to buy?

  1. Tonya DeRose says:

    Good Job Jen! Can’t wait to get together

Leave a Reply

