Moving sucks!

I am officially surrounded by cardboard boxes as far as the eye can see, in preparation for the big move into the new house this weekend.  Am I excited about the new house?  I sure am!  And am I excited about packing all our possessions into boxes to move them 7 minutes down the street…not so much.

I think the worst…well, one of the worst…parts of moving is the limbo land you are in when you are faced with the dilema of what to pack while you are still living in your current house.  For example, I got motivated and started packing up some of my kitchen stuff…then I realized how much I use those things that I had just packed.  Then I thought about it and I use everything in my house…so how on earth to I pack early to get a jump on the big move?  I think the answer is that I can’t.  So I decided to tackle some of the things that I can do that will help with the move, even if it isn’t packing.

The first thing I did was tackle the kids clothes.  UGH…what a nightmare.  Before we moved to Florida I had a dozen people in close vicinity that I could give my hand me downs, so I could hand over a grocery bag here and there as I came across clothes that no longer fit the kids.  Well, since moving here the kids have apparently done alot of growing and not giving a little away at a time like I used to has resulted in a big accumulation of clothes that don’t fit anymore.  I also noticed that when the girls were younger, my little one would accept hand me downs from my older daughter with no problems.  Well, now they have both adopted their own personal styles (opposites of course) and the hand me down train has come to a full stop!

After going through all the kids clothes I was able to fill 3 huge bins to the top and I decided I was going to attempt to make some money from these clothes, and if I couldn’t then I would donate them.  My first thought was ebay, but the truth is listing clothes is a big pain in the butt and I don’t feel like taking the pictures, loading them to the computer, then listing them….UGH!  Three bins worth of clothes would have me listing items on ebay till I’m old and grey.  So, then I remember hearing about a kids gently used clothing store here in FL that pays money on the spot for any clothes they choose to take to add to their inventory.  I found the closest location about an hour and 45 minutes away, which is quite a haul but I had to go to the Apple store to get some work done of my Mac anyway and that’s the closest location…so off to Orlando I went with Hubby driving and my little man in the backseat.

I guess this store is super picky about what they take because out of my 3 bins full of brand name, stainless, hole-less kids clothes, they only took 23 items which they gave me $37 for.  So, I am really happy I didn’t make the long drive just for this because I spent just as much in gas getting there as they gave me.  And in the end I wound up using the money they gave me to buy shorts and some summery tops for the kids.  So I walked away with $0 and an empty tank of gas.

So, what to do with the rest of the clothes…I plan to bring them to a traditional consignment shop here in town to see if I can make any money off them there.  That way, whatever clothes don’t sell they will donate for me.  Now…if I can just find the time to get there…

About jenboys

I'm a wife, mom of three and a full time student. I love shopping. Even grocery shopping, but I have a habit of spending too much, so I found a way that I can buy alot and not get the evil eye when I come home...coupons!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

